Dérive and Psychogeographic Maps

Site-collage-001Site-collage-002

In these two maps I sort to respond to two of the three main themes of the Situationists (dérive and psychogeography). The blue piece documents my exploration through the site in a Situationist drift manner and has been my second time visiting the site since my first as a child. The circles of colour in the middle of the piece represent the anxiety I felt that the space of the foot tunnel imposed on me. The yellow piece represents the overlapping of histories both printed and oral tradition in the collages of the prison ships and my grandfather (as a child) on the ferry. The pink lines indicate my areas of interest in the physical space of today which are the DLR station, abandoned rail station, abandoned dock, ferry, Royal Victoria Gardens and the foot tunnel.

Leave a Reply

